Too Old to be a Groupie

Standard

Okay…. never in my life did I think I’d be as old as I am with a serious artist addiction.

*Hangs head in shame*

But, I *places hand over chest*, Jamillian Mogul Monroe, am a huge Rihanna fan. *Opens one eye to see if anything happens* rihanna

Honestly, I don’t know how this happened. Or when. All I know I know is that I literally feel my heart swelling with love everytime I hear her music. Who knew music could MOVE you like that?

I decided to play Rihanna radio on my Pandora and realized this addiction is bad. I never get tired of listening to her songs! “I just shot a man down, Pon De Replay, Talk that Talk, Photographs, Diamonds, Pour It Up, Whats My Name, Rude Boy”… I could go on forever, well not literally but… you know.

I know most young women my age as still part of the Beehive, the force known as Beyonce. Don’t get me wrong, Beyonce is a amazing performer…. but no matter what Beyonce sings or does, it always sounds like R&B.rihbey

Rihanna on the other hand can sing any genre from pop, reggae, rock, r&b, alternative ANYTHING. There have been times that I’ve heard her music in department stores and didn’t even realize it was her until later. What Rihanna lacks in performance ability she makes up for in VERSATILITY! 

Because my daughter is an avid groupie of the group One Direction, I recognize all the symptoms of groupie-ism. I wasn’t fully prepared to accept that as my official label until I realized that my newest hair ventures involve cutting my hair to look like her. Then, just the other day, I thought what if my 30th birthday party was a Rihanna party, with her songs playing all night?! -_- Yeah…. its bad.

Again, I *hang my head in shame*

Comments are closed.